Orangevale to Edinburgh

img_0211

Why start with an airplane wing, one might ask. The firsts, of course: This is the first photo for my first blog post because it captures the first moment I really processed the fact that I am studying abroad in Scotland, the first non-North American country I have been to, for a semester.

The moment: hour 14 of flying, on the third and final plane of my long journey from Orangevale, CA to Edinburgh, Scotland. As the plane began to descend and the Earth came into sight, I saw seemingly endless, green, lush land, and upon locking eyes on it, became a child on Christmas morning. I couldn’t stop smiling, partially because a lack of sleep left me a tad delusional, but mostly because everything was setting in – I would be spending four months in Scotland!

Leave a Reply

